Covid-19 Lockdown Contingency Plan

Essential Services Provision Program

Please click on the link below to view the documentation

Water Supply

Please click on the link below to view the documentation


Please click on the link below to view the documentation

Click here to register and view your municipal accounts:

Registration is quick and easy, you will only need:

  • a valid email address
  • your municipal account number
  • setting a password
  • 3 minutes of your time


Maquassi Hills Local Municipality is located in the Dr Kenneth Kaunda District, North West Province, South Africa that’s situated on the N12 that runs from Mpumalanga to Western Cape.

Wolmaransstad serves a large community and is an important diamond-buying centre. It’s a farming and prospecting community, forming part of the area where the highest concentration of earth moving equipment in the world can be found.

These three main towns Wolmaransstad, Makwassi, Leeudoringstad and Witpoort falls under the Maquassi Hills Municipality.

Visitors can also learn about the history of diamond mining in the area, an area brimming with adventure, Maquassi Hills invites you to explore its exciting history by taking the Digger’s Diamond Tour like the early miners who sifted through the earth in their search for untold mineral riches. Leeudoringstad, named after a species of thorn bush that grows abundantly in the area, is a small farming town in the Maquassi Hills municipality.

Leeudoringstad made headlines when, in 1932, a train carrying around 300 tons of dynamite from the De Beers factory at Somerset West to the Witwatersrand exploded and flattened the town. Fortunately, only five people died in the incident and visitors can find information and photographs of the disaster in the town museum.

1358805 Orig.jpg

Geography and Economics

Area: 4 643km²
Description: The Maquassi Hills Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Dr Kenneth Kaunda District in the North West Province. It is bordered by Tswaing in the north, the Free State Province in the south, City of Matlosana and the Free State in the east, and Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District in the west.
It is one of the three municipalities that make up the district, accounting for a third of its geographical area.
Cities/Towns: Leeudoringstad, Makwassie, Witpoort, Wolmaransstad
Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture (49%), domestic (17%), community services (15%), manufacturing (14%)

NW KennethKaundaDM